ATX Community

DRAKE SOFTWARE BEWARE!

taxguy2040

I thought it would be worthwhile to the rest of the world to share our experience with Drake Software as we tried to switch from Pro Series for the 2014 tax season.

We went to a seminar where Drake was presented to us and mainly based on the price difference, we chose to give Drake a try.  Here is what we found:

Drake has been in business since 1977 and claims they have only updated their pricing plan one time since then.  We quickly found out how that was possible.  The interface of Drake remains in 1977.  It is not user friendly and definitely makes you think, "you get what you pay for".  On one hand, I may be a little biased because we were trying to switch from the expensive, but overall impressive, Pro Series. On the other hand, I worked in the tech industry for a few years and use technology every day and what they are offering is not up to par.  

Drake is proud of its speed.  I found that the only thing that they have footing on with speed is the software startup time.  Sure it boots fast, but once you are actually using the program, the redundancies and ways of operation make it much slower in the long run.  Why should I have to click a button to calculate the impact of the number I just input?