ATX Community

Shopping for Drake? - member testimonials and comments

jklcpa

Two replies so far in response that have been copied from the original topic are:

From @JohnH :

When shopping, try Drake.  You'll find it lightning fast and customer support is unbeatable. There's a learning curve, but nowhere near as bad as some will claim.  All  you need to do is be willing to break a few time-wasting habits, forget some bells & whistles,  and really focus on efficiency.

From @Tax Prep by Deb :

Also take advantage of their trainning.  They give you sample returns and then the completed returns.  I started playing around with it in October and felt pretty prepared to start January.  I love it now!  And as was stated, support is good.  I had an issue relating to the portal.  The guy I spoke with was not able to figure it out but said he would research it and get back to me.  In the meantime I found a work around.  Didn't hear back until 3 weeks later.  I thought I was not going to hear back but I did

Edited by jklcpa
added tags
  • Like 1

• jklcpa changed the title to Shopping for Drake? - member testimonials and comments
  • jklcpa pinned this topic

In the past, they have also given - free - prior-year full function programs in case you want to run some previously-done returns of your own.  That was super-helpful to me when I switched.  Plus, when I later had a new client with many years' unfiled returns, I was able to get ALL the prior year programs for those returns for free.  I will note that was a few years ago; don't know if their policies have changed at all since then.

• Like 1

I switched early in 2013 when ATX reworked the 2012 program and haven't looked back.

Some of the reasons I like Drake, not in any particular order:

• program speed
  • update speed
  • flawless backup
  • ease of integration with document manager
  • macros
  • price
  • exceptional customer service
  • user forum with knowledgeable, helpful, supportive members