ATX Community

refund applied to 2019

JackieCPA

Hi guys!

I am amending a tax return. They received a refund on the original, but it was applied to next year. They owe money with the amended return. Do you think she should send a check for what is owed with the amended or can I write in the explanation to net it with what was applied from the original return? 

Paying with the amended return is the quickest way to stop interest from accruing, so that alone is enough for me to choose that option.  Also, I think Murphy's Law will be in full force on the other option, and it won't be as easy as it sounds.  That said, I have no experience with trying to get IRS to shift a payment to a prior year, just a strong feeling that it won't go as smoothly as it should, and you'll be wasting time on it in the future.

• Like 4

We just had a similar situation, with original return refund applied to 2019.  The amended return was sent in without payment, and with a request to lower the 2019 carry-forward.  The client immediately got a bill.  My partner called the IRS and was told that they cannot change the carry-forward amount.  That sounds bone-stupid to me (they HAVE the money already, after all), so it may be worth another call for us to see if we can get someone with a better clue to answer the call.  

My partner now has a far-better understanding of why I detest applying refunds to the next year.  One mess up (in this case, our elderly client misplaced a consolidated 1099 and since she was new - and newly widowed - we had no prior history to question her on), and now you have two years involved in the mess.

I'd just have the client pay it - and watch like a hawk, next year, to be certain the IRS doesn't lower the carry-forward anyway.

• Like 2

1 hour ago, Catherine said:

The client immediately got a bill.  My partner called the IRS and was told that they cannot change the carry-forward amount.