ATX Community

NT - Footnote disclosures on audited financials

BulldogTom

Sorry in advance for the long post.   This is for my CPA friends on the board.

My day job is controller for a partnership.  I am not a CPA, even though my degree is in accounting.  I keep up "generally" with the FASB and AICPA requirements for financial statements, but only as it pertains to posting transactions to stay in compliance with GAAP (revenue recognition, lease accounting, etc).   Otherwise, I don't really pay much attention to the reporting requirements.   That is what we pay the CPA firm 60K per year to do - right?

So anyways, when I came to work here, the books and records were a mess.   I went through the prior year financials and I found all kinds of errors that the CPA passed on the prior year, though they did mention the items in the management letter.  The 2018 management letter was about 9 pages long.   I came on board late Oct 2019 and by some miracle, I got the balance sheet back in balance and had a pretty solid handle on the Balance Sheet accounts.   The income statement was a little rough as to the accounts used to post the expenses, but the most important ones were pretty well dialed in.  In January 2020 I revamped the entire accounting scheme and reporting, and now I have a pretty solid set of books for the company.   Divisional Accounting, back up schedules for all the balance sheet accounts, proper monthly accruals, labor that ties out to the 941s, Monthly bank recs, daily cash transactional posting, etc.