ATX Community

Any opinions of Online Payroll

NECPA in NEBRASKA

A friend asked me about using online software. He has never done payroll, so he is looking for something that will basically do everything. I have only used QuickBooks and Medlin. I don't think that either are great for someone that knows nothing. I will not be helping. I am just asking as a favor. I don't know why he doesn't want to use ADP or Paychex. Maybe it's too expensive.

Thanks if anyone has a quick minute or opinion.

Bonnie

I have used QB in the past. For the most part it is not beginner friendly. But.. if the payroll is setup correctly and not too complicated with fringe benefits; etc. It does do a fairly decent job. PR tax payments can be setup for automatic EFTPS deposits, state deposits; etc. I agree with Medlin though, to start they should use a service.

• Like 1

I have been using online payroll for over 8 years now. Doesn't mean I would vouch for it.

Actually I will be looking a replacement after tax season is over. I already use Medlin for my smaller accounts, less than 10 employees.

Almost all of the services charge between $39 and $69 per month plus $ 4 per employee per month.

• Like 1

16 hours ago, NECPA in NEBRASKA said:

A friend asked me about using online software. He has never done payroll, so he is looking for something that will basically do everything. I have only used QuickBooks and Medlin. I don't think that either are great for someone that knows nothing. I will not be helping. I am just asking as a favor. I don't know why he doesn't want to use ADP or Paychex. Maybe it's too expensive.

Thanks if anyone has a quick minute or opinion.

Bonnie

Bonnie,

If your client wants a online payroll program that does "everything", most functions can be run from a smartphone or tablet, has employee access thru a phone app,

take a good look at a program called "Gusto"  It's at the top or near the top of all the ratings, reviews and cost.

• Like 1