ATX Community

1116: foreign tax reduction prop to FEIE

orioncarrier

Hi everyone,

I'm new to ATX and struggling a bit. I have a client who needs to use both the foreign earned income exemption (FEIE) for her earned income, and the foreign tax credit for both general and passive baskets. I've entered three items of passive income, and the one item of general income that is not eligible for the FEIE, into the Details screen of form 1116. ATX has added a separate, uneditable entry for the FEIE exemption below a heading "Form 2555". (I've attached screenshots).

I need to reduce foreign taxes proportional to the FEIE. I am accustomed to being able to hand enter the reduction amount. I'm unsure on what basis ATX is pre-calculating this figure, as it depends on a ratio, the numerator of which is the exemption amount, and the denominator is the total foreign taxes paid, which I haven't entered anywhere in ATX. Can anyone tell me how to change this value, or what to change to get it to change?

There are fields in the Details table for "General Limitation Numerator" and "General Limitation Denominator", but no indication on the screen what those values mean. On the row containing my non-exempt general basket income, for some reason these fields both contain my exemption amount (??), and the tax reduction is the full amount of the taxes allocated to the income item (??).

I've experimented with changing the numerator so that it applies a ratio to my allocated taxes that results in the tax reduction I want, but then for some reason it makes the income in line 1a on the 1116 a large negative amount. (??)

Any insight on how to control the output for tax reduction will be appreciated.

Tax reduction prop to FEIE.png

Tax reduction prop to FEIE 2.png