ATX Community

Lacerte User - Switch to ATX?

JMCPA

I've been using Lacerte for about 23 years. I sold 90% of my practice a couple of years ago, but still do about 40 1040's, 15 1041's and about 15 total others (1120-s, 1120 & 1065's). The returns I still do are fairly voluminous but not super technical. Some have roughly 20 K-1's to input, and some have a lot of trading activity. I've been very happy with Lacerte, but the cost has just become too much. I plan to look at Drake too.

Are you ATX users happy with the product?

Have you priced out Lacerte as pay per return? How about ProSeries?

I've been using the per return option with Lacerte for several years now. For 2009, 1040 + 1 state is up to $39+tax. Business/Estate/Trust +1 state is up to $54. This is in additon to a license fee of $395. E-filing is an additional $5 per return. This does not include a fee for the network version.

The software works great and I hate to make a switch because of the learning curve. I have not looked into ProSeries yet.

>>the cost has just become too much<<

Lacerte is trying to bump prices as much as 25% this year, but they will back down somewhat for a long-term client if you really really scream at them, so try that first. Second thing I would recommend is grin & bear it. You aren't going to be satisfied with a switch. I use both ProSeries and Lacerte. ProSeries 1040 is very powerful with reasonable accuracy and good diagnostics, but it isn't in the same class with Lacerte. I haven't looked at ATX in years, but judging from the complaints and awkward work-arounds and outright missing features reported on this forum, I would guess it's even farther down the scale.