ATX Community

Filing late

Lucho

What would be the best way to tell IRS why my client is filing late?

By Oct 15 he was in the hospital and after the doctor let him go home he needed some extra time to rest.

Should I E-file the return and wait until IRS send the bill including the late filing penalty? or should the return be mailed and attach the documentation explaining the reason for being late. This is my first time I have a client with tax liability that is filing late.

Thank you for any help I can get.

Lucho

The IRS neither cares, nor is under any sort of requirement to even consider it.

Too late to e-file, so it must be mailed.

The taxpayer had 10+ months to file. If he chose to procrastinate and then ended up sick, those are the consequenses of his choice.

Send the explanation with the return if you wish. I think all that will happen at the IRS is a good laugh.

I have yet to get a late filing or late payment penalty abated when the taxpayer files after Oct. 15.

Let us know how that works...

I agree with Jack. You must have a reason that will make them cry. But it won't hurt to try. When they ignore the letter you send with the return, you can give it another shot by sending a second letter after the notice arrives.

You might even try calling them with the client conferenced in on the call after the notice arrives. I've had some situations where we got some consideration on the phone that we couldn't get by correspondence. It all depends on the luck of the draw and how persuasive you are.

>>By Oct 15 he was in the hospital and after the doctor let him go home he needed some extra time to rest.<<

First of all, there should be little penalty anyway since it's based on balance due. Presumably a good faith estimate was paid with the extension request, so it may not even be worth the time and effort to request abatement.