ATX Community

Recommendations on Alternatives to ATX?

Chowdahead

I have been using ATX since 2004 and they have had their issues, usually related to availability of my lil' state's forms in a timely and accurate fashion, but I am pretty tech proficient and have managed to deal with them.

I've been through various debacles, including the out-sourcing tech support to India debacle, and a few major issues state returns a year ago causing people to not receive their state refunds.

But this year I have decided that I need to at the very least look elsewhere. Sticking with ATX may cause my business to collapse, especially with the beta product quality of this year's software and over this debacle with the 8867.

Which other program offers similar functionality to ATX and ease of use for someone who isn't a CPA? I've looked into Drake, but I hear it is a bit difficult to use. TaxWise is a CCH program as well, correct? I want to steer clear of that.

What are other recommendations? I am hoping to convince one of them to let me set up for free or at reduced cost for the remainder of the season so I can at process a few dozen returns and get acclimated to it for next year.