ATX Community

Kansas state return...any advice?

Janitor Bob

Long-time client moved from Ohio to Kansas January 2013. I was pleasantly surprised when I received her tax stuff in the mail this week.....but I have ZERO experience with Kansas and will need to do some research....any advice or words of caution from Kansas members?

I know in Ohio you can have up to 4 returns...Fed, OH, School, and Local...depending on where you live. Does Kansas hava a similar structure?

Hi, JB. I live in Kansas. Do you know what County she lives/works in?

Return will be a part-year return, of course. Schedule S is the form you will use to back out the income from the time frame she lived in Ohio.

Is she W2 or Schedule C? Kansas has a new law in 2013 where 'business income', rental income, entity pass-through income, etc. isn't taxable.

Let me know your questions as you run across them. We'll get it worked out. Bart is in Missouri, but I believe he does a large number of Kansas returns, also.

• Like 1

Her move was January 1, 2013...so no partial year issues....FIRST TIME EVER FOR THIS CONVENIENCE!

The couple lives in Wichita (Sedgwick County, I believe). She has W-2 income from her place of employment and he has W-2 from DFAS (Military).

My point of concern is that he has NO state taxes held out of his Military W-2. This was not an issue when they lived in Ohio because Ohio does not tax military pay for a service-member who is stationed outside of Ohio...he was (and is) stationed in Kansas, so he owed no Ohio tax....but now...it looks like he is going to owe a bunch to Kansas because he lived and was stationed in Kansas for all of 2013....sound right?

http://usacac.army.mil/cac2/Staff/osja/repository/legal_residence.pdf is a good source for information on domiciles for military.