ATX Community

Bookkeeping Only

nxb11307

Hello everyone,

My first time on here.

I have been doing taxes and bookkeeping for many years but as I am getting older, I am thinking about doing just bookkeeping.

The tax side of the business is taking up a lot of my time, more risk than the bookkeeping side and the stress level, well, that we all know about. 

Anyone else have this same idea, maybe selling off the tax side of the business and only doing bookkeeping?

Every April I say this is going to be my last year, I'm getting too old for this.  By time December rolls around I say it wasn't that bad, and do it all over again.  I do have a friend who is just starting on his own who is interested in purchasing my book of business and keeping me on to help out.  I still enjoy the actual prep of the returns, just getting tired with dealing with the IRS, NY state, and clients, so I'm seriously thinking of taking him up on his offer. 

I like the tax prep, and until recently, representation was my favorite part of my practice (hopeful the IRS will start answering the PPL again soon).   There is no satisfaction like getting the client the right result when the IRS is treating them improperly.   I don't do much bookkeeping, but what we do I hand off to my employee spouse.   She enjoys that work more than I do.  

Tom
Longview, TX

• Like 2

I find it difficult to separate the two.  I actually had a "Bookkeeping Only" client call me last night for advice on how to proceed with elements of her bookkeeping.  Of course, she was over-thinking the whole thing.  I never totally trust the bookkeeping done by a client.  I find too many questionable entries.  Like the others, I really like the tax preparation and the solving of the issues.  Most of our bookkeeping is done in office by my assistants and they are here to ask when there is a question.  If I were to give up one or the other, I think that I would have to give up both because they are so closely interwoven.