ATX Community

Fixing balance sheet on 1065

Kea

Tax Matters partner has been preparing 1065 manually for approx 40 years. I'm taking it over this year.

The balance sheet includes 2 assets that were written off previously. A total of $615 was included on line 13 ( d ). But it seems to me (and I am new to this) that lines 9a ( c ) and 9b ( c ) should each be increased by $615.

How can I "fix" this? I don't think I can change the beginning 2010 balance sheet -- it should match the ending 2009 balance sheet, right? I can show it in the right place on the 2010 ending balance, but then how do I reconcile it? I considered showing it on line 7 of the M-1, but it isn't a K-1 item (and it shouldn't be).

I apologize if this is too basic a question. I did take an accounting class in high school and remember a few basics. But I just don't know how to "fix" a previous problem. I don't really want to amend because I don't want to open a can of worms and tax implications are de minimis.

Thanks

Edit -- Or, do I just ignore it until if / when the assets are sold? Then try to figure an adjustment at that time.

Thanks OldJack.

Just to make sure I understand -- you are saying I should change lines 9 and 13 on the beginning balance portion? Even if that would be different from the ending balance on the 2009 Form 1065? It would change the beginning balance of each partner's capital account.

But the K-1s would not be affected and that's what's most important.

I have her asset list with original basis & everything fully depreciated. These 2 items were not previously in the line 9 totals. The net of 9a and 9b would still be $0.

(hummm, I wonder what depreciation method was used back in the 1970s for the farm buildings and equipment? -- Doesn't matter, basis is all $0 now.)

I sometimes wonder if anyone ever looks at these anyway. I know I messed up some in the early days. I agree with Old Jack. Fix it and move on. The bottom line is what matters.