ATX Community

Grantor Trust Help

Tax Prep by Deb

I have a client whose grandmother had set up a living trust (grantor trust) along time ago. The only asset was an annuity. The client's grand mother passed away in 2009 and a personal return was filed for her in 2009.

Because she died in November, it took my client several months to get the funds released from the annuity. She and her father are trustee's.

For 2010 the only thing that has come in is a 1099R for the annuity distribution. It shows it as a total distribution . Box 1 $264,413.91 and box 2 (Taxable amount) is zero. We have confirmed that there is no taxable amount.

My question is what do I need to do with this if anything? The money was split equally between the two trustees.

I don't really see any place on a 1041 to put it.

I've never done one of these before, and I just don't know how to proceed.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Deb!

Now -- are you certain that the taxable amount is zero? A lot of annuity companies leave the taxable amount blank and it's up to you to determine the taxable amount. Amounts in excess of the investment in the contract are taxable as ordinary income (assuming that it was bought with after-tax money). However, since you said that this was a total distribution, maybe the surrender charges bring the distributed amount below the amount invested....

You mentioned that the trust was set up a long time ago. Check the grandmother's tax records to see what the investment in the contract was and how she was reporting the annuity. I really doubt that there's no taxable income.