ATX Community

Life Estate

mrichman333

So, I'm familiar with inheritances, living trust etc. But this is my first time dealing with a life estate.

T/P parent put property into a life estate, he had/has three older kids.  One child paid the other two for their interest in the property.

My T/P is one who got paid for his interest in the property

Would this be a gift and what would the cost be calculated as if it was a gift or is this something else? 

Thanks

Life estates work best when they terminate on the last parent's death.

When they don't, you will run into some complications.

The following, gives a pretty good explanation, with examples, of a life estate, sold prior to TP's death.

Note - Link is invalid. I've sent a PM asking Max W to follow up with the link or to provide it so that this post can be edited with it included.

Edited by jklcpa
note re: invalid link
  • Like 2

Am waiting for the link to be fixed.  I have been researching this very question for over a week.  However, in my case, the entire house was sold; so Mom is one of the four who get a share.  Yes, it is definitely a gift and basis is whatever Mom's basis was when she acquired the property.  There are possibly some obscure calculations to be done.  Also, if sold at a loss; no capital loss can be taken.

• Like 1