ATX Community

IT consultant

Margaret CPA in OH

A new client is an IT professional and had 5 positions last year always with a W-2.  He is a consultant and works on special projects.  As an Ohio resident, Ohio state tax was withheld but not always the local tax, to his dismay.  He has never physically worked in Ohio or the locality, though.  He has been in different states and even in Germany for a couple of months.

I am uncertain about whether to research filing requirements for all the locations where he has physically worked.  When I asked about an itinerary for 2015, he referred me to his 2014 return (HRB).  I interpret this to mean that he has no intention of other filings.  I do suspect that they each may be in excess of the filing requirement and do know that credit would be shared.  Well, most likely.

I'm getting several firsts in this, my 20th year, and this is one.  Comments? Suggestions?

I am not a Germany expert so cannot help you there.  Unless any of the States are reciprocating states (like OHIO/PA) he most likely will have a filing requirement in each State he worked.  I have my share of boiler maker clients that work all over the country and we file for every State that they work in.  And if he did not work in Ohio, then I would think the only local you will be concerned about is the one where he lives.  It is not his choice as to whether he files where he is suppose to.  His choice is to follow the law or not.  Your choice is to whether you are interested in aiding and abetting him if he chooses to not file where he is suppose to.

Not sure any of that helps, but those are my thoughts.

• Like 2