ATX Community

1120S Pricing Help

Crank

After 30+ years of doing taxes Im a CPA I have completed my first 1120s. Ive strictly only worked on 1040s up until now and I have no idea what to charge for an 1120s and the corresponding State return.

Background info. Business is a year round ice cream shop with 2 sharholders. They have 2 locations and revenue of about $175,000. Assets are about $200,000.

One of the shareholders has been a long time client of mine but went to a different CPA last year to file the inital 1120S when I declined. The shareholders did not have good experience with this CPA and convinced me to take the return this year. Cant say I disagree as the CPA did a sloppy job with almost no interaction with the clients and didnt file until October 2011 with some penatlies and interest. He also made significant mistakes on their 1040s missing $10,000 in capital loss carryforwards, among others, requiring amendments.

This other CPA charged them $1500 for the 1120s and the two shareholders 1040's including States and locals.

Im good with pricing the 1040s but Im at a loss for pricing the 1120s that would be fair to both me and the client.

I would appreciate any comments on what others charge or how to arrive at reasonable price.

Thank you!

If they were not having a problem paying $1500, charge them the same or just a little less $1450 or $1400. Clients love having to pay less. Early this year a person came with a 1040 with 9 properties and asked me how much do you charge because HR charged him a lot the prior year, I told him my fees start at $1000, he said HR charged him $800 and his previous preparer would charge him $200, I said great return to the person that charged you $200, but he died.