ATX Community

The Republic of CA Latest Rip Off

BulldogTom

Received a letter today from our friendly Republic. Mr. Bulldogtom, you owe us $2,500 because we think you are filing taxes and we don't have a record of you being a CTEC registered preparer. If of course, you can prove that we are wrong, we will abate the penalty.

Lets see, I have power of attorney on file with them for several of my clients. I have a PTIN number. I have been filing taxes for 15 years in this state. And at the bottom of every return I prepare, it has my name followed by an EA and my federal tax ID number.

What a bunch of crap. Those lousy lazy bastards are just looking to steal.

I love the way I am guilty because they say so, and must prove I am not or they will take my property. Those bastards never read, and if they did, they never understood the constitution.

Tom

Hollister, CA

• Like 2

You just have to reply back and tell them you are an EA and you are exempt. CPAs, EA and Attorneys are exempt in from registering with the CTEC in California.

I feel the CTEC rules in California are good since it requires non-licensed tax preparers to register, be bonded and take CPE classes..

http://www.ctec.org/PreparerVerify.aspx

http://www.ctec.org/Content.aspx?pid=8

The point is...they have fined me without any proof. They said "we don't want to ask you who you are and why you can practice, we are sending you a bill for $2500 and daring you not to bow down to us". I have every right to practice in this state. And if they don't think so, they should ask me. Not send me a bill. Who the FRIK are these dirty bastards, treating us like this is some frikkin totalitarian government.

I hate CA government.

Tom

Hollister, CA