ATX Community

"Not Repsonding" Message

clay

This year, when I open a return, it will often say "not responding". This happens most often when I open a return the first time after it is rolled over.

It also happens occasionally on returns that have been opened more than once.

Thankfully, the program always has "responded" and opened the return or saved it. I have not lost any data and there have not been any failures in executing a save or opening of a return.

I have been using ATX for over 10 years and this is the first year I have seen this happening on a fairly consistent basis. In other years it happened occasionally and again the program "repsonded" properly after about 10 seconds.

I am just a little concerned that at some point the program will not be able to respond.

Anyone else experiencing this???

I've seen that mostly on the networked machine, not the server much. Maybe once on the server.

I have had the program just blatantly and suddenly just crash without warning on the server. It has happened about 5 times after about 350 returns. When it has happened this year, it has been when rolling over a return.

I don't remember a single crash last year or even in previous years.

This is a Windows Operating System characteristic. If the program does not respond as quiclky as the operating system thinks it should, it shows the message. The ATX program does so many things in the background before actually sending info to the screen that the operating system gets impatient and complains via the "not responding" message. The larger the return involved, the longer the delay and the more often the "not responding" message. Also, the more returns in the program, the longer the delay as well.

If the "not responding" message remains for a very long time, (you know what an average amount of time is) then there may be a problem.