ATX Community

Client ID requirements

StevenL

I have been preparing tax returns for about 18 years now and have not required my clients to provide any kind of identification or their social security card (except in certain situations i.e. EITC). However,now with all the problems with identity theft and increased IRS scrutiny of tax preparers I felt it would be best to start asking for picture ID and social security cards to verify client identities and to keep a copy with the clients records but I had a new client ask me why I needed a copy of her social security card because her previous preparers had not ask for this information and in fact, when I looked up IRS requirements for clients providing this information I found nothing that says we're required to provide it or that we have to ask for it.

So I'm asking; do you require your clients to provide picture id and social security card and do you make copies of them to keep with their records? also does anyone know if the IRS requires us to get and keep this information from our clients?

Thanks for your help

I am protecting myself and keeping a "permanent file" for my clients as of this year. Getting picture I.D. (Drivers License or Passport) and Soc Sec Card.

for taxpayer and spouse. If they are receiving Soc Sec Benefits I am putting a copy of the 1099SSA in lieu of Soc Sec Card.

For children: Soc Sec Card and Birth Certificate.

Once I have the above documents in my "permanent file" for them I won't need them to bring it again.. Except for new member of family.

Then proof child lived with them for the tax year. Something with the Parent's name & Address and childs name. That I will have to update each year.

Most of my clients are OK with this as they don't want me to have 500.00 fines for lack of information. I have all their data in my computer anyway.

Just need actual documents to back-up information.