ATX Community

annunity rules

TAXMAN

Can some one check me on this. TP age 59(not591/2). tp's wife died 2 years ago left him 400k in life ins. TP took and bought an annunity with this money. TP lost his job June 2015. Continued to pay cobra ins thru rest of year. Not enough medical to exceed haircut #. I know he owes the tax on the wd (1 wd of 8k after losing job) but would he owe the penalty?

Annuities have some odditites built in.  They are a contract between the buyer and the insurance company; read the contract.  There may be provisions allowing what might be termed a "partial surrender" for specific needs.  Those provisions, if they exist, may be a way out of penalties.

I am not an expert on annuities (or any insurance product, for that matter) but I thought that there were two different types of annuities.  If he invested $400,000 from life insurance proceeds at one whack, I would not think that this is the type of annuity that behaves like an IRA/qualified plan.  In which case, I would have thought that he could recover his investment without tax penalty although there might be penalty from the insurance company for early withdrawal.  But I am quite willing to be corrected on that since I really don't know much about how annuities are structured.

• Like 2

Yes; I was thinking along the lines of @Gail in Virginia.  Non-qualified annuity is NOT a retirement vehicle; it's just a contract "give us money now and we'll give you money later and you hope it's more".  Early withdrawals subject to penalty form the insurance company, not the IRS.  But there are sometimes exemptions to those penalties.

Read the contract.

• Like 2

I wish I could report differently but yes, there is an IRS early withdrawal penalty on Non-Qualified annuities.

Too bad TP didn't wait a few months.