ATX Community

Sales tax on the ATX product - robbing you with a pen?

STYLJ248

I live in Florida and I admit I am not an expert in Sales tax.... it is just too confusing, convoluted and dependent on each state. When clients have questions about sales tax, I usually advise them to call the DOR and ask directly since they know their circumstances best. I have seen too many businesses struggle or close due to unpaid sales tax because they did not understand the specific rules for all the nuances of their business product and/or sales. The DOR will ask questions about their business that they did not even know would be affected or applicable to sales tax.

So when I realized that when I order my (downloadable) program for Quickbooks and Creative Solutions, they do not charge me sales tax, I wondered why I do have to pay sales tax for my Wolters Kluwer/ATX tax software and called the FL DOR just to double check on the rules.

According to a representative from FL DOR, sales tax is only charged on "canned software delivered on Tangible Personal Property (CD, etc.)".

So then I called my sales representative at WK/ATX. She told me they charge sales tax to everyone, regardless of the state. So I asked to speak to Accounts Receivable.

The AR rep said it does not matter what FL DOR says, they charge sales tax regardless of your state or the type of product you receive.

The FL DOR offered to talk to WK/ATX rep and the WK/ATX rep agreed that they would talk to the DOR, but no matter what the FL DOR had to say, WK/ATX would not change their policy because they always send a CD. I told them I don't want the CD, and they said .... (wait for it) ...... "We have to send you a CD, so we can charge the sales tax".

Oh yeah... Also according to the FL DOR (and they offered this, I did not even ask), they (FL DOR) probably does not receive the FL sales tax from WK/ATX that we pay on these products, because it is not required.