ATX Community

New Feature Idea

Terry D EA

I have been using ATX since 1998. While the program has made major changes over the years, there is one area that I would like to see an impovement or or a feature added. Each year we check the return manager against the e-file manager weekly to ensure the returns have all been transmitted or mailed. Most of my mailings are either corp, payroll forms; etc and not usually individual returns. We always find one or two returns that slipped by without being e-filed. While this has not become a major issue with my clients, it is an issue with me. I am a one man show any my wife handles the receiptionist and some administrative duties. We are not networked, but that maybe an idea for her to check behind me.

I would like to see a feature that would flag a return if it has not been either e-filed or mailed that would get your attention. Even if you could run a report that would be helpful. I know you can run the e-file report but to my knowledge there is nothing within the program to alert you that the return has not been filed.

We did have a return this year where the client's bank information disappeared om the 1040Efile form. I distinctly remember entering the information, shredding the paper the numbers were written on and creating the e-file. This return never got transmitted and when we re-opened the return to re-create the efile, the information vanished.

If any of you have any other sytems of checks and balances that helps with this, please post them here as I would like to see the procedures others use. Have a restful off season

Terry D.