ATX Community

worried about new RTP requirements and CPE cost

Janitor Bob

I have been doing taxes for 12 years, but I am not a CPA or EA.....Just a guy who does import/export and some taxes for a company full-time. Individual tax prep, I have always done on my own out of my home in my spare time. Due to costs and mainly time contraints from my full-time job, I never bothered to study for and take any exams, such as EA or CPA. For the same reasons, I never followed any strict CPE requirements...I always just studied on my own to stay fresh on various tax topics.

Now that is all different....I need to take time off work pay to take the RTP exam (after I pay for study materials from someone), then continue to miss work and pay for CPE credits throughout the year.

I am a single father with a full-time shipping Manager job...barely able to pay for his kid's college tuition....how am I supposed to find the money for this?

seriously looks like my days as a preparer will be over soon....anybody want 150 clients?

IRS has free webinars, and they're archived, so you don't even have to watch them live. TaxTalkToday has a package deal for credits for the whole year. If you belong to any professional organizations, they may offer inexpensive seminars. If you belong to any national organizations, such as NAEA or NATP, you may find CPEs from reading their publications, taking an online or mail in test, and paying a small fee, and many offer webinars you can take on your own time. Your software company may offer free &/or low cost CPEs. Your company may reimburse for education if you can make a case for your skills helping the company.

The initial test will be an expense and time consuming, but it's a one-time deal. Many seasoned tax preparers have passed it with no additional study. The next window (starting May?) will use 2011 tax law, so take it soon while preparing returns is fresh on your mind.