ATX Community

ATX Layoffs!

Mainetaxman

Bad News everyone!

I found out this week that most of the ATX sales and tech reps have been laid off! Now I know why I've been having so much trouble trying to reach someone at ATX. I've been calling off and on for a few days, but I either get cut-off or I'm on hold for a long time. I finally spoke to a rep who said he actually works at "TaxWise". I asked him why it's taking so long to get through, and he told me that the ATX people in Maine were "let go" in late December. I Goggled "ATX, layoffs" and came across an article in the Bangor Daily News (bangornews.com) on December 31st giving more details about the layoffs. It seems that TaxWise is now taking control of ATX and all the calls are going there. I just hope they don't mess up the service. I've been using MAX for several years and I hate to see anything happen to that product. Check out the article ----

Caribou ATX layoffs a 'shock' to workers

By Jen Lynds

Monday, December 31, 2007 - Bangor Daily News

CARIBOU, Maine — Representatives of the Maine Department of Labor will be in Caribou to meet with workers who learned last week they were being laid off by ATX, a tax software firm.

It was not clear over the weekend how many workers are affected by the layoffs.

State Rep. Peter Edgecomb of Caribou said Sunday that he learned of the layoffs from city officials late last week and had received e-mails from several former ATX employees.

"I think that, at this point, there are more questions than answers about what has happened," Edgecomb said. "I have been told that these employees went to a meeting thinking they were going to strategize about the upcoming tax season and then were told they were being laid off. ... This certainly was a shock to them, and it is a shock to the city."