ATX Community

Tax Office Organization Ideas?

Chowdahead

I've been doing this since the 2003 Tax Year. I'm pretty organized. But in the madness during the peak tax season,and those very late nights of transmitting, I always seem to have someone fall through the cracks, in terms of not getting e-filed after the return is done. There is no worse feeling than to have a client call you weeks later and inquire as to why they haven't received their refund, and when you go check the program you realize that although the hardcopy was filed away, the electronic file was never e-filed. Doh! Or an e-file could be rejected by the IRS or ATX and never gets corrected and re-transmitted properly.

What type of system do you guys use to document that every return that was supposed to get e-filed, was transmitted and accepted, And every return that the customer was supposed to mail, was handed to the customer. Or if you are simply waiting for a customer to return with additional documents. What is your system? I figure I don't need to reinvent the wheel here, since there are probably plenty of good models to follow.

I use the status field on the Return Manager.

I have the following categories:

I rollover the return when I receive it, and enter the date in the status field. If I have several appointments that day, I will batch rollover first thing in the morning, but not put anything in the status field until I have the documents. Entering the date in the status field allows me to process them in a somewhat FIFO fashion.

Then there are the following status terms that are entered/updated after the item is done:

entered

need info (when entered and waiting for more info)

printed

assembled

mailed (for those that will not be picked up)

e-file / e-file;Chase (for Bank Products)

complete (and check the box; I do not move to complete until the e-file has been accepted